2024 Recap

UF Health Shands Stroke Conference

Take a look at what happened at the 11th Annual Stroke Conference 2024


Founder, Stroke Program
Former Chair, Department of Neurology
Director of Stroke Research, Clinical Institute for Research and Innovation, Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center
Director, Mobile Stroke Unit Consortium

Dr. James Grotta received his education at Dartmouth College, the Universities of Virginia and Colorado, and Massachusetts General Hospital. After joining the UT Houston faculty in 1979, he established the UT Houston Stroke Program and developed its NIH funded fellowship training program. He has been continuously funded to carry out translational research in acute stroke treatment, and played a leading role in many clinical research studies, including the NINDS TPA Stroke Study.

In 2013, Dr. Grotta stepped down as department chair and moved his practice to Memorial Hermann Hospital to lead the Mobile Stroke Unit Consortium, the nation’s first Mobile Stroke Unit to deliver TPA and other stroke therapies wherever the stroke occurs. In 2021 he completed a prospective multicenter comparative effectiveness study of this novel approach to acute stroke treatment.

He edits the most authoritative textbook on Stroke, and has published over 500 scientific manuscripts. He was a recipient of the Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke (1999), Physician of the Year (2006), and the Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award (2010), all from the national chapter of the American Heart Association (AHA), the President’s Scholar award at UT Medical School (2010), Lifetime Achievement Award, Texas Neurological Society (2013) and Pioneering Award, Society of Vascular and Interventional Neurology (2013).